Home > Music > Yeah, I know… but…

Yeah, I know… but…


Happy May Day! I’m trying to post more, so I thought this warranted a few words…

I’m not a fan of contradicting myself, especially publicly, and in writing, but I’m breaking my own self imposed moratorium on plugin purchases. Yes, I continue to live and exercise my “keep it simple” mantra, but hell, a sale is a sale.

Slate Digital dropped the price of their Virtual Buss Compressor to an obscenely low level – one that even I, Mr. “I don’t need any new plugins-high-horse-guy”, couldn’t avoid. After about a minute of justification, I hit the “Buy Now” button. After all, I got that mixing gig I posted about recently, so I have a legitimate reason.

That’s what I keep telling myself anyway…

Wow, is this plug-in stunning? (that was rhetorical). For the last few years, my buss compression mainstay has been Cytomic’s The Glue, but this thing is in a different league. Don’t get me wrong, The Glue is awesome for it’s price and capabilities (and it will continue to be, for those reasons), but the Slate stuff just has THAT sound. It’s a premium plug.

Image

I put it on the “audition mix” I just did, and yeah… Smile inducing, smooth, tight and round, yet simultaniously open are all words I’d use. Even though my buyers remorse is running wild, this was a good decision, and it’s never a bad decision if it’s used for paid work. At $99 bucks, this will pay for itself many times over.

Ok. I’m done. No more plug-ins. That’s it. I can do this…

until the next sale…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

